Welcome Guest [Log In] [Register]
eRegime is a forum mostly based around forum games. Users think up and run said games, being given the means necessary to do so (such as full mod powers over the forum areas of their games.) It has been around since 2012.

You're currently viewing the forum as a guest.

Username:   Password:
Add Reply
Economy and taxes; Guide
Topic Started: Apr 11 2018, 07:05 AM (219 Views)
warrenblinston
n00b
I've been playing this series of games on and off for nearly five years. What surprises me more than anything is that I'm still discovering things about it. There are a few more things I've learned that I wanted to share. All of this relates to Power and Revolution. Consider the following information as tips for growing the economy. As always, all these things are timed so that economic growth occurs in December. This is to stop inflation rising to move closer to the GDP growth rate, something which seems to be less bad in Power and Revolution than the previous games anyway but still. Keeping the gap between GDP growth and inflation as large as possible ensures that you get the tax revenue that comes with the growth. When they're close together, you seem to get no better off even though the economy is meant to be growing. This is a long-standing thing in the series.

1) It's always been difficult to build a sustain a decent economic growth rate as a developed country. I guess one might say this is more realistic since most developed countries are seemingly stuck in the slow lane, with growth in this decade well below historical norms. Ireland is one of the few countries that has sustained a high rate of growth for years.

What I did in the game to generate the best growth possible, without using contracts, was to exploit the game mechanics slightly. Raising interest rates to 20 per cent at the start of each year and lowering them to the lowest possible level in December was the preferred technique in Rulers of Nations and Masters of the World.